LibGuides: Arts & Humanities: Special Collections & Archives

This guide is brought to you by:

Foyle Special Collections

Find and use the Special Collections
Keep up to date with the status and availability of our collections

Surgical amputation, image from 1754.

Anatomical drawing of musculature from 1543.

Special Collections for Life Science & Medicine

Special Collections hold material relating to life sciences and medicine, including the historical collections of the constituent medical schools of the University, reflecting the College’s long and illustrious tradition of medical teaching and research.

Early Science Collection
19th century science, including mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, botany, zoology, evolution, comparative anatomy, engineering and technology, cookery and domestic science.
Guy's Hospital Historical Collection
Reflects the whole range of biomedical sciences, including surgery, materia medica, botany, pharmacology, forensic medicine, dentistry, and comparative anatomy. We also hold the library of the Physical Society of Guy's Hospital (1771-1852).
IOP Historical Collection
Covers the range of psychological science and includes works of neuroscience in addition to academic monographs on psychiatry.
King's College School of Medicine and Dentistry Historical Collection
The library of King's College School of Medicine and Dentistry was started in 1839 with the opening of the first King's College Hospital and was established to serve the interests of the medical department of King's College London.
Rare Books Collection
A variety of subject areas including physics, mathematics, astronomy, botany, and zoology.
Stebbing Collection
The former library of TRR Stebbing (1835-1926) comprises a range of natural history works, reflecting Stebbing's interest in crustacea, but also in the general study of zoological classification and Darwinism.
St Thomas' Hospital Historical Collection
Comprises the pre-1901 holdings of the St. Thomas’s Hospital Medical School.