Skip to Main Content

Library overview for taught students

The overview slides will give you an introduction to the resources, services and support available to you from Libraries & Collections.

Overview for undergraduate and postgraduate taught students

Overview slides for online/distance learners

Library Tours

The self-guided tours help you to learn about the resources, facilities, and services within the libraries as well as how to find a physical book.

Self-guided Tours

The Maughan Library

In-person Tours

We are running in-person tours of the Maughan library on Wednesday 19th October at 12:30pm and 16:30pm and Wednesday 26th October at 15:30pm. To book please click on the link below for your preferred date and time:

Wednesday 19th October:

12:30pm tour

16:30pm tour

Wednesday 26th October:

15:30pm tour

A librarian will lead the tour, where you will learn about the layout of the library as well as practical information about the resources, facilities, and services we offer, including:

  • different library zones available
  • how to find a book
  • using the laptop loan machine
  • using the self-service kiosks
  • using print copy scan machines
  • short loan collection

 

 

Getting Started with Library Resources - Online Session

Do you need help finding your way around the Library website? Do you want to know more about searching for books, accessing our eresources and how to sign-up for workshops and 1-1 help? 

To understand more and make the most of Library resources online book yourself onto this 30-minute Getting Started webinar held on MS Teams on Tuesday October 25th 11:00-11:30am.

A librarian will lead the session where you will learn about navigating our website as well as practical information about the resources and services we offer online, including:

  • Library Guides
  • Browsing and accessing eresources, such as journals and ebooks
  • Using Library Search to find books, articles and more
  • How to book 1-1 appointments and get further support

There will also be time for questions at the end of the session.

To book, please go here

How we can support your studies

Libraries & Collections are committed to supporting our learner communities to the best of our abilities. We do this in different ways across a number of platforms, like Library Guides, KEATS and LibAnswers FAQs, Each platform has its own purpose:

Library webpages

These give a quick overview of library services and resources, where you will find:

Library Guides

Our Library Guides (like this one) are designed to help you navigate and signpost you through the platforms we use to inform and support our communities at King's. We have Library Guides that are specifically focused on different subjects and that can be used to help you choose and access relevant resources and support for your subject.

KLaSS on KEATS

King's Learning and Skills Service (KLaSS) is a suite of e-learning tutorials designed to support learners to:

  • retrieve high-quality academic information from online sources
  • get help and support on their search topic via online Forums
  • learn about the referencing styles in use at King's
  • manage and share your research data (designed for Researchers)

Need to ask us a question?

How to access your reading lists

​Your Reading Lists will let you look up online lists of books, journals and websites your lecturers expect you to read for your lectures and seminars.​​

We have been working with your faculty to switch to eresources for your modules and make them accessible directly through your Reading Lists, providing core texts in ebook format where possible to do so.

Getting Started with Library Search

Library Search provides access to an extensive collection of resources to support your studies comprising books, ebooks, ejournals, newspaper collections and databases.  It includes digital content held by Archives and Special Collections.

Getting Started with finding support

This video will take you through all of the different elearning study support options we can offer you including 1:1 support, sign-up workshops and forums:

Important to know

Getting Started With the Archives

This video introduces King’s College London Archives, including the Liddell Hart Collection for Military Archives which hold a unique, internationally significant range of archival and printed sources.

Getting Started with Special Collections

The Foyle Special Collections Library holds a unique, internationally significant and continually expanding range of printed and other sources.

Disability Support

The Disability Support department provides and coordinates support to staff and students throughout the College.  The Disability Support department's webpages below have contact details for their staff.

Looking for details and instructions when physically accessing different buildings at King's? Click the AccessAble link below and choose the campus you'll be using.

Documents are available in a range of formats. For more details and information about accessible formats, inter-site books requests, software, equipment & our ten Assistive Technology Rooms (ATRs) spread across the six King's library sites: