LibGuides: Law: India

Introduction

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying the law and legal system of India. It contains sources and commentary for Indian law such as ebooks, journals and databases. There is also a focus on open access and broader content such as multimedia, blogs and podcasts.

Cases and legislation

Legal Information Institute of India

The Legal Information Institute of India is part of the global free access to law community, making Indian law more accessible to the world. LII of India provides the below-mentioned Indian law information:

Case-law: cases from the Supreme Court, high courts, several district courts and various tribunals

Legislation: acts from 1836 onwards; state and territory legislation (dates vary)

Legal scholarship: articles from fifteen Indian law journals or collections of legal scholarship

Law reform reports and bilateral treaties

LII of India provides over 150 databases, searchable simultaneously or separately, including cases and legislation from every state or territory.

India Code
Official website providing central acts, in force and repealed; also has state legislation.
Indian Kanoon
Developed by computer scientist Sushant Sinha, this website provides cases from the Supreme Court, High Courts, a few district courts and numerous tribunals.
Indian Treaties Database
This database is managed by the Ministry of External Affairs, providing access to Treaties/Agreements/MoUs etc., which have been entered into by the Government of the Republic of India with Foreign Countries since the year 1950. The database is updated regularly.

Websites

The Lex-Warrier
The Lex Warrier is an OA, peer reviewed academic ejournal from India. However, the website also encompasses news, blog posts and guidance around various elements of practice such as drafting contracts, networking and interviews.
JURIST
JURIST is a legal news website with content supplied by students from 50 law schools in 25 countries across 6 continents, including Indian law students reporting on law related developments in and affecting India.
Feminism in India
FII described itself as a 'one-stop platform for everything related to feminism in India'. It contains news, videos, opinion, podcasts and more including a section dedicated to Law & Policy.
Oxfam Policy & Practice
Knowledge, evidence and ideas from Oxfam, communities and the organisations they partner with from around the globe
The Hindu Businessline: Business Laws
The Hindu BusinessLine is a business daily, currently in its 28th year of publication. Note: you are limited to 3 free articles a week without a subscription.

Blogs & Podcasts

Contested Nation
Contested Nation is a podcast that explores the Constituent Assembly Debates and their continuing relevance for India today.
The IJLPP Podcast
The Indian Journal of Law and Public Policy (IJLPP) is a blind peer-reviewed, bi – annual, law and public policy publication. In the IJLPP Podcast they discuss major happenings of the legal and policy field. Please note it is infrequently updated.
iPleaders blog
Law & Other Things
A blog about India's laws and legal system, its courts, and its constitution. LAOT publishes analytical or explainer pieces in the field of public law, with a keen attention on mentoring law students throughout the editorial process. It has also initiated a New Scholarship Section hosting roundtable discussions on contemporary publications in public law.
Nyaaya
Nyaaya is an open access, digital resource that provides simple, actionable, reliable and accessible legal information in multiple formats, helping solve day-to-day legal problems so that citizens are aware of their rights and feel empowered to seek justice.

It has a regularly updated weekly blog, guest blog, podcast and videos.

Practical tools and guidance

AdvocateKhoj Law Library
A communication platform designed for legal professionals in India. Their Law Library contains an exhaustive list of Acts and Rules passed by the Indian Parliament, full text of Supreme Court Judgments (1950 onwards), Legal Forms, Sample Agreements and Glossary.

Law

Introduction

Cases and legislation

Websites

Blogs & Podcasts

Practical tools and guidance

Journals