LibGuides: Law: Jurisdictions

Finding legal material in non-UK jurisdictions

This part of the guide highlights where to find legal materials from non-UK jurisdictions. At King's we subscribe to a number of databases providing access to legislation, caselaw, law reports, journals and other secondary materials from other countries. However, these tend to focus on the US/Canada and countries in the Global North.

This guide will develop over time as we increase our coverage of other jurisdictions, but will also serve to highlight the wealth of open legal information available, including non-traditional forms of publishing such as blogs and podcasts.

Dalloz Digital Library (Dalloz Bibliotheque) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus - click on More for full details
The Digital library comprises more than 3,500 ebooks and textbooks on French Law, including all Codes Dalloz, Dalloz action, Glossaries, Précis, and a wide range of university textbooks and revision works that support both teaching and research.

Note: 1 concurrent user access. If unable to access, please try again later

Login info:
Click on "Connexion" to be fully logged in and see the list of our subscribed titles under "Ma bibliotheque"
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window King's username and password required off campus
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Lexis + UK This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals.

Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.

For help and support using this new platform see: pages https://lexisnexisuk.custhelp.com/app/lexisplus
Practical law This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus.
Practical Law is a leading provider of legal know-how, transactional analysis and market intelligence for business lawyers. Resources include legal updates, practice notes, standard documents and clauses with drafting notes, expert opinion and multi-jurisdictional guides written by leading lawyers.
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
This includes legislation, case law and journals for US and Commonwealth countries. To access International Materials, go to Westlaw UK, select 'International' from the Region drop-down menu located on the top left of the page. US Materials can be found under 'Relate Legal' on right hand side of page.

NB. The previous version of Westlaw UK was discontinued from August 2019. For Westlaw E-Books, select 'Books' from the drop-down menu located on the top left of the page

Finding information in other libraries

FLAG: Foreign Law Guide
FLAG is designed to help researchers locate the holdings of foreign, international and comparative law in UK universities and national libraries.

By using either the ‘Collections search’ or ‘Advanced search’ options you can retrieve information about which libraries hold collections relating to particular jurisdictions.