LibGuides: Law: Open Access

The Open Library

The phrase ‘Open Library’ describes our vision for Libraries & Collections at KCL. Developing genuinely open and inclusive collections is an important part of this.

Using and promoting Open Access resources can enhance the inclusivity of our teaching and learning at King’s by surfacing the significant collections of research and primary materials from the Global Majority, bringing diverse and often unheard perspectives in to the classroom, and ensuring our students can access these resources at no financial cost throughout their student journey and beyond.

Open Access Resources

Amicus Curiae
Amicus Curiae (‘Friend of the Court’) is intended to serve as a lively and informative publication for raising and exploring important legal issues. The scope, reflecting the prestigious international reputation of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, includes: UK, European, Foreign, International and Comparative Law. It is published online three times a year.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. You can search not only for entire journals but also articles within those journals.

Bepress Legal Repository
Library of working papers and pre-prints from top law schools. Predominantly (but not exclusively) US.
LawArXiv: Legal scholarship in the open
Law Review Commons
Legal Scholarship Network
Abstracts freely available to all
SAS-Space research repository
Research repository for the School of Advanced Study at the University of London. The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies area of SAS-Space includes articles, books and book sections, monographs, conference and workshop items, masters and doctoral theses, and other legal materials.

University of London Press: Law Collection
OBserving Law
OBserving Law – the IALS Open Book Service for Law is an open access book publishing initiative aiming to provide a showcase for the vibrant state of legal scholarship, by publishing the best monographic works in law and making them free to read anywhere. It embraces the full scope of legal scholarship, from doctrinal analysis, to theoretical exploration and empirical study, and interdisciplinary approaches. Books in the series are innovative and intellectually stimulating, fully peer reviewed work reaching a worldwide audience, widening knowledge and understanding, and playing a major role in policy, practice and legal education.
Cambridge University Press OA Law Books
Oxford University Press OA Law Books
OAPEN: Law
Pressbooks Directory: Law
Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 7,370 open access books published by 190 organizations and networks using Pressbooks.