Introduction
This guide is intended for those interested in the law and legal system of Spain. It contains sources and commentary for Spanish law such as ebooks, journals and databases.
Key databases
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals.
In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
-
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline’s Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals provides access to an interactive digital version of the entire print Index dating back to 1960. Composed of more than 430,000 index records, this online resource is fully searchable from 1985 forward, providing links to the full text of more than 100,000 indexed articles and book reviews.
In addition to browsing the print edition, users may quickly view all articles associated with a particular author, subject, or region. As an added convenience, the database allows for ISSN and ISBN linking to local catalogues or World Cat, as well as OpenURL linking to personal library resources.
-
Practical law This link opens in a new window
Practical Law is a leading provider of legal know-how, transactional analysis and market intelligence for business lawyers. Resources include legal updates, practice notes, standard documents and clauses with drafting notes, expert opinion and multi-jurisdictional guides written by leading lawyers.
Books
These are suggestions. To search across our collections, please use LibrarySearch.
-
-
-
El Tribunal Constitucional
by
A través de esta breve monografía se busca ofrecer un texto divulgativo para que lectores no necesariamente especialistas en Derecho puedan tener una visión clara, general y sintética del papel que le corresponde al Tribunal Constitucional como intérprete supremo de la Constitución. Con esta finalidad se hace un breve repaso de su origen histórico, de su función como órgano jurisdiccional que controla la constitucionalidad de las leyes, así como del resto de procedimientos constitucionales de los que conoce.Por otro lado, no es posible hablar del Tribunal Constitucional sin referirse a hechos muy relevantes de la historia de España, por lo que se examinan algunos de sus pronunciamientos más recientes, como el examen de la constitucionalidad de los estados de alarma decretados en el año 2020 como consecuencia de la pandemia ocasionada por la covid-19, o el análisis que lleva a cabo respecto de la aplicación del art. 155 de la Constitución como instrumento extraordinario para frenar el incumplimiento de la Constitución que se estaba produciendo en Cataluña por parte del Gobierno de la Generalitat y del Parlamento autonómico, entre otros.En definitiva, se busca una aproximación al protagonismo del Tribunal Constitucional, no solo en el campo jurídico, sino también en la escena política y social, poniendo de relieve que, si bien su legitimidad reside en las competencias que le atribuye la Constitución y en la utilización de métodos jurídicos para dictar sus resoluciones, su legitimación, entendida como concepto sociológico que se identifica con la aprobación social de su actuación, lo que está vinculado a la idea de prestigio y respeto, es algo que el Tribunal ha de ganarse, día a día, en todas y cada una de sus resoluciones.
ISBN: 9788413814230Publication Date: 2022
-
Estudios de historia de derecho penal
by
Se reúnen en este libro diversos trabajos publicados por el autor a lo largo de 32 años sobre el Derecho Penal y el Orden Público de los siglos XVIII-XX. Concretamente “La Ilustración y la humanización del Derecho penal", “El Derecho Penitenciario: De la Ilustración al Liberalismo", “La codificación del Derecho militar en el siglo XIX", “La Sección de Orden Público a fines del reinado de Isabel II: la represión política a través de los ficheros policiales reservados", “La codificación del derecho penal colonial español: Cuba, Puerto Rico, Filipinas y Marruecos", “El Código Penal de Marruecos y el Proyecto de Código Penal de Silvela de 1884", “La raza como circunstancia modificativa de la responsabilidad penal en la jurisprudencia del Tribunal Supremo a fines del XIX", “Masones en los orígenes de la ciencia penal europea", y “La masonería en las Bases militares norteamericanas durante el franquismo: la logia Liberty nº 70 de Torrejón de Ardoz en Madrid (1960-1992)".Javier Alvarado Planas es Catedrático de Historia del Derecho y de las Instituciones en la Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, Doctor en Derecho y Doctor en Ciencias de la Documentación. Es Académico correspondiente de la Real Academia de la Historia y de la Real Academia de Jurisprudencia y Legislación de España. Ha publicado más de un centenar de libros, monografías y artículos en revistas científicas especializadas dentro y fuera de España (Alemania, Italia, Bélgica, Rusia, México, Puerto Rico, etc.), y dirigido cerca de una treintena de congresos, cursos, seminarios o symposia en sedes universitarias. Entre sus diversos reconocimientos cabe citar el Premio Nacional de Historia (compartido) otorgado en 2009 por el Ministerio de Cultura, la Cruz de Honor de San Raimundo de Peñafort (Ministerio de Justicia) y la Encomienda de la Orden de Isabel la Católica (Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores).
ISBN: 9788413775562Publication Date: 2021 -
Family Firms and Closed Companies in Germany and Spain
by
Family firms and closed companies are the most widespread form of business organization in Germany and Spain. As a field of comparative research, however, they have long been neglected. This volume puts them in the legal limelight. Eleven contributions explore typical legal problems with which courts, legal scholars and practitioners struggle in this area. These include majority/minority conflicts over retention of profits, executive compensation and other related party transactions. Particular attention is also paid to shareholder agreements which often contain a second layer of regulation in addition to the articles of association.
ISBN: 9783161598227Publication Date: 2021-02-01 -
-
Racial Justice, Policies and Courts' Legal Reasoning in Europe
by
ISBN: 3319535803Publication Date: 2017 -
Misceláneas jurídicas
by
Este libro es mucho más que el conjunto bien elaborado de las consideraciones jurídicas del autor sobre muchos de los acontecimientos más relevantes que han acontecido en la vida pública española durante los últimos veinte años. Porque en algunos de ellos el autor ha tenido una participación directa lo que confiere a sus posiciones una relevancia singular. Su lectura conduce, también, a recordar aquellos acontecimientos, lo que convierte al libro en una suerte de resumida historia de España…Los análisis vertidos en el libro, artículos que periódicamente publicó en la revista “El Siglo"en la que colabora desde 1997, comentan los asuntos judiciales que han estado sobre la mesa en las dos últimas décadas. Desde el funcionamiento de las principales instituciones -Tribunal Supremo, T.Constitucional, Consejo Gral. Del Poder Judicial-, pasando por los actores (jueces, abogados, imputados, aforados), hasta llegar a un capítulo que el autor denomina “Nombres propios"…Pero hay que resaltar que una gran parte de los artículos son de plena actualidad y que sin duda lo seguirán siendo en los próximos tiempos: sobre“El procés"Catalán, sobre la corrupción, el caso “Gurtel", sobre las Cajas de Ahorro, sobre los Aforamientos, sobre los desahucios,…Los artículos, atraen desde el prisma de sus amplios conocimientos jurídicos, pero sin caer en elucubraciones doctrinales para que su lectura interese no sólo a los que se dediquen a asuntos jurídicos, sino también a un muy amplio colectivo de ciudadanos, por su sencillez y amenidad.Para dar coherencia a sus diferentes contenidos y prescindiendo de la fecha de su confección, los artículos han sido agrupados por materias, para facilitar al lector acudir a aquéllos que le merezcan más atención.
ISBN: 9788491488750Publication Date: 2018
-
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
by
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is a comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law, and constitutional/higher law throughout the world and are written and signed by one of the many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts. For years, scholars have been investigating the remote origins of their respective national and religious law. Only recently has there been a developing interest in and study of the history of law in modern times. This encyclopedia will bring together the study of ancient law with the study of modern law-examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts. The Encyclopedia will cover ancient, medieval, early modern, and modern law in eight legal traditions and geographical/cultural areas: Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, Medieval Roman Law, United States Law, and law in other regions (Africa, Latin America, and South Asia among them). It will address major categories of law within these traditions, including private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), varieties of public law (criminal law, administrative law, statutory law), and higher law/ constitutional law. It will be the first encyclopedia of law to provide historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems.
ISBN: 9780195134056Publication Date: 2009-04-17
Websites
-
Biblioteca Juridíca DigitalAll current codes available in full text. It indicates those currently being revised. The website is free to use, but there is an alert service which requires a subscription.
-
Boletin Oficial del EstadoBoletin Oficial del Estado (Spanish official gazette) is freely available online in full text from 1st January 1960. All texts are in Spanish only. Access to legislation is free, but commentary requires a subscription.
-
El Tribunal ConstitucionalThe website of the Constitutional Court of Spain. Provides a searchable database of case law.
-
Global Legal Monitor: SpainThe Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide.
-
OEPM: Oficina espanola de Patentes y MarcasSpanish Patent and Trademark Office. Includes database of recent caselaw.
-
Portal del Tribunal SupremoOfficial website of the Poder Judicial.