Collections Guide for DPSoL
This guide provides tailored information on library collections and links to some of our key resources.
If you are looking for information about how to navigate our libraries, attend a workshop or schedule a 1:1, you can find it on the Business & Law Guide, linked below.
Recently added titles
AI and Legal Education by
This book provides a comprehensive interdisciplinary analysis of the sustainable and ethical integration of artificial intelligence (AI) within legal education, offering practical strategies for balancing innovation with ethical responsibility. Discussing the intersection of legal studies, technology and ethics, the book focuses on AI's role in reshaping professional education. With the rising demand for digital transformation in legal education and the increasing scrutiny of AI's ethical impact, this book explores the potential of AI to enhance legal learning and practice, while critically examining the challenges of data privacy, algorithmic bias and equitable access to technology. Outlining a framework for incorporating AI into the law curriculum, the book equips the readers with both cutting-edge technological skills and a deep understanding of AI's ethical and societal implications. Drawing on a wide range of sources, including industry data and academic research, the book offers grounded, actionable guidance on implementing AI in a way that promotes inclusivity, sustainability and long-term relevance. It addresses the needs of legal education institutions, faculty and students, providing them with the tools to navigate the evolving legal landscape while maintaining ethical standards. The book will also be of interest to researchers in the fields of law, education and AI ethics.
ISBN: 9781040344910Publication Date: 2025-02-04
The Cambridge Handbook of the Law, Ethics and Policy of Artificial Intelligence by
This informative Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the legal, ethical, and policy implications of AI and algorithmic systems. As these technologies continue to impact various aspects of our lives, it is crucial to understand and assess the challenges and opportunities they present. Drawing on contributions from experts in various disciplines, the book covers theoretical insights and practical examples of how AI systems are used in society today. It also explores the legal and policy instruments governing AI, with a focus on Europe. The interdisciplinary approach of this book makes it an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to gain a deeper understanding of AI's impact on society and how it should be regulated. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
ISBN: 9781009367813Publication Date: 2025-02-13
Diverse Voices in Tort Law by
This captivating book explores uncharted territory in tort law, shedding light on underexplored viewpoints in the field. The collection brings issues of social class, race, gender, marginalisation, vulnerability and harm into conversation with core tort law topics to encourage a more critical examination of the law and its impact on different groups of people. Written by experts in the main areas of tort law from negligence to defamation and personal torts, chapters will: * deepen students' understanding of the central concepts and practices of tort law; * uncover the power imbalances and privileges that underpin tort law decisions and their impact on lived experiences; * amplify under-represented voices by signposting to the work and ideas of scholars that are less visible in the field. Integrating marginalised perspectives into the curriculum and discourse, this indispensable textbook paves the way for a more inclusive and comprehensive understanding of tort law. Chapter 9 available open access digitally under CC-BY licence.
ISBN: 9781529231601Publication Date: 2024-04-23
In black and white : a young barrister's story of race and class in a broken justice system by
Alexandra Wilson was a teenager when her dear family friend Ayo was stabbed on his way home from football. Ayo’s death changed Alexandra. She felt compelled to enter the legal profession in search of answers.
As a junior criminal and family law barrister, Alexandra finds herself navigating a world and a set of rules designed by a privileged few. A world in which fellow barristers sigh with relief when a racist judge retires: ‘I’ve got a black kid today and he would have had no hope’.
In her debut book, In Black and White, Alexandra re-creates the tense courtroom scenes, the heart-breaking meetings with teenage clients, and the moments of frustration and triumph that make up a young barrister’s life.
Alexandra shows us how it feels to defend someone who hates the colour of your skin, or someone you suspect is guilty. We see what it is like for children coerced into county line drug deals and the damage that can be caused when we criminalise teenagers.
Alexandra’s account of what she has witnessed as a young mixed-race barrister is in equal parts shocking, compelling, confounding and powerful.
ISBN: 9781913068318Publication Date: 2021
International Humanitarian Law by
The law that regulates armed conflicts is one of the oldest branches of international law, and yet continues to be one of the most dynamic and relevant areas of law today. Now in its third edition, this textbook provides an accessible, scholarly, and up-to-date examination of international humanitarian law, offering students and teachers a comprehensive and logical discussion and analysis of the law. The textbook contains detailed examples, extracts from relevant cases, and useful discussion questions and a recommended reading list for each chapter, to help students and teachers alike engage with the subject matter, and grasp how the theory and the practice interact. Developing and emerging trends in theory and practice of international humanitarian law are also explored and examined, allowing for readers to build on their knowledge, and grapple with some of the biggest challenges facing the law of armed conflict in the twenty-first century.
ISBN: 9781009326728Publication Date: 2024-05-09
Legal Design by
Legal design is a rapidly growing field that seeks to improve the legal system's accessibility, usability, and effectiveness through human-centered design methods and principles. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to legal design, covering fundamental concepts, definitions, and theories. Chapters explore the role of legal design in promoting dignity, equity, and justice in the legal system. Contributors present a range of community-driven projects and method-focused case studies that demonstrate the potential of legal design to transform how people experience the law. This book is an essential resource for anyone interested in the future of law and the intersection of design and justice.
ISBN: 9781009437073Publication Date: 2024-12-19
