LibGuides: Law: Key Resources

Key legal databases

Lexis + UK This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals.

Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.

For help and support using this new platform see: pages https://lexisnexisuk.custhelp.com/app/lexisplus

Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides case law, up-to-date legislation, academic journals, the Legal Journals Index and current awareness. It also provides EU legislation and cases and International legislation, cases and journal articles. Geographically, it covers primarily Europe and North America, although it is constantly expanding its jurisdictional scope.

As well as the database, it includes access to c.370 Westlaw eLibrary ebooks, including core academic textbooks. Please note that we do not have access to every ebook on the platform. For a complete list of services, check the Westlaw Directory. You may browse the different databases by subject or you may run a keyword search to locate relevant resources.

Please note that the previous version of Westlaw UK was discontinued from August 2019. For Westlaw E-Books, select 'Books' from the drop-down menu located on the top left of the page
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window
This includes legislation, case law and journals for US and Commonwealth countries. To access International Materials, go to Westlaw UK, select 'International' from the Region drop-down menu located on the top left of the page. US Materials can be found under 'Relate Legal' on right hand side of page.

NB. The previous version of Westlaw UK was discontinued from August 2019. For Westlaw E-Books, select 'Books' from the drop-down menu located on the top left of the page

Practical law This link opens in a new window
Practical Law is a leading provider of legal know-how, transactional analysis and market intelligence for business lawyers. Resources include legal updates, practice notes, standard documents and clauses with drafting notes, expert opinion and multi-jurisdictional guides written by leading lawyers.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.

Eresources

The following databases all hold content specific to various legal disciplines including legislation, caselaw, law reports, eBooks and journals. If you require a specific journal title or article, it is best to use LibrarySearch.

The following databases contain eBooks relevant to law programmes. Not all titles will appear through LibrarySearch, so we advise also checking these platforms.

News

The following databases hold a vast number of UK and International newspapers. If you are searching for a specific newspaper, we suggest using LibrarySearch.