Skip to Main Content

Health Sciences Library Guide

Database [dey-tuh-beys]

Databases are websites with collections of resources (articles, books etc.) in a specific subject area. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use. There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic databases (sometimes called indexes) list information about resources such as abstract and see the author details. You'll need to look for the Get it @ King's button to check if the Library has access to the full-text.
Full-text databases list the same information but have links to read or download the item.

Health sciences databases

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Medicine

Embase - King's
Extensive biomedical and pharmacological database of journal articles and primary research. Use Embase as part of a thorough or systematic search.
Medline (Ovid) - King's (On Campus)
Bibliographic database of references to journal articles on clinical medicine, dentistry and biomedical research. Also covers nursing, chemistry and pharmacology, biological and physical sciences, microbiology, nutrition, health care delivery and social sciences. Use Medline as part of a thorough or systematic search.
Medline (Ovid) - King's (Off campus)
Bibliographic database of references to journal articles on clinical medicine, dentistry and biomedical research. Also covers nursing, chemistry and pharmacology, biological and physical sciences, microbiology, nutrition, health care delivery and social sciences. Use Medline as part of a thorough or systematic search.
PubMed for King's staff & students
Bibliographic database of literature from Medline life science journals, and online books.
Web of Science Core Collection
Bibliographic database with extensive coverage of literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, and several other item types.

Need help logging in? see our FAQ Login instructions for popular eresources.

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Medicine

CINAHL - King's
Bibliographic database for nursing and allied health literature. Journals from many professional areas including therapy, rehabilitation, pharmacy and social care. Useful if you study Dental care, Health management, Health sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy, Social work, Sport and exercise sciences.
Maternity and Infant Care Database (MIDIRS)
Bibliographic database. The world’s largest midwifery-specific database, indexing academic journals, book chapters, and a range of grey literature.

Need help logging in? see our FAQ Login instructions for popular eresources.

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Medicine

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is an accessible source of anatomical knowledge. With simple language and realistic, 3D visuals, it may be used as an adjunct to dissection as well as for students who need to re-learn clinically relevant anatomy for their surgical rotations or who are taking anatomy modules.

Need help logging in? see our FAQ Login instructions for popular eresources.

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Medicine

PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline provides access to 4 journals and over 20 ebooks, which include psychiatric textbooks, manuals and guidelines as well as patient information and self-assessment tools. The full list of ebooks can be found using this link books
PsycINFO APA via Ovid - King's

You can access databases on the Ovid platform on campus without logging in at: Ovid
PsycINFO covers the behavioural sciences and mental health, with references to papers, chapters and dissertations, relevant to psychiatry, medicine, management, social science, neuroscience, law and social work.

Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details.

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Medicine

Annals of Anatomy
British Journal of Pharmacology
Cell
Forensic Science International
Genome Research
Immunity
Journal of Physiology
Journal of Molecular Biology
Nutrition reviews
Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Physiotherapy
Trends in Neurosciences

Find these journals, and more on Library Search:

Library Search @ King's
Find books and full text journal articles on your subject online!

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with medical and health topics. For a complete list of databases related to health subjects, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Health and Social Medicine

Global Health
Global Health available via Ovid is the bibliographic and full-text database dedicated specifically to public health research and practice. The database’s open serials policy and inclusion of international and grey literature allow for unique coverage.
It provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. The database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
- communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
- tropical diseases, i.e. diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
- parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
- human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
- community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
- medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)
Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details
Social Policy and Practice - King's
Social Policy and Practice represents an important source for applied social science policy-makers and practitioners working within human resources, public safety, social services, social administration, economic and social development, social work, social work education and care management. Coverage is broad and includes:
- Public & social policy
- Public health
- Social care
- Community development
- Mental and community health
- Homelessness
- Housing
- Crime
- Equalities
- Law and order
- Children and families
- Older People
The database comprises over 320,000 bibliographic records to reports, surveys and statistics.
Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details.

Need help logging in? see our FAQ Login instructions for popular eresources.

Evidence-based medicine

For a full list of evidence-based medicine search tools, visit the A-Z list of databases for evidence based medicine.

Best Practice (BMJ) – King's

Best Practice is a completely new concept for information delivered at the point of care. In a single source there is combination of the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Its patient-focused approach represents a major advancement in information delivery at the point of care.

There is a mobile app available
British National Formulary (BNF) - King's
The BNF is a joint publication of the British Medical Association and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society published biannually under the authority of a Joint Formulary Committee. The BNF aims to provide prescribers, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals with sound up-to-date information about the use of medicines.
British National Formulary (BNF) - NHS
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare. Collection primarily consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers as well as Cochrane Protocols, Editorials and Special Collections.

Access to the Cochrane Library is free to NHS staff, patients and the public in the United Kingdom. For information on access from other countries see this page
TRIP

TRIP is a clinical search engine providing a single search interface to a large number of web resources, which contain high quality evidence for answering clinical questions, including journals, synopses, online textbooks and systematic reviews. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
UpToDate
UpToDate is a evidence-based clinical resource tool which provides ability to search by symptom, condition, procedure or protocol; drug information and drug interactions; calculators; CME/CPD; Society Guidelines; Access graded treatment recommendations, utilizing the GRADE system. Updated approximately every 4 months. Initial registration on campus required. Once registered, your account must be revalidated every 90 days to remain active.

MRCPass
• Notes on topics covered in MRCP Pt 1
• 130 MCQ questions
• Bookmark questions
• Choose questions by topic
• Track statistics
• Look back over wrong answers
Revise MRCP
• Covers MRCP Parts 1 and 2
• Over 5,000 MCQs arranged by topic
• Free to sign up
• Past papers going back to September 2010
Medexam.net
• Over 1,800 MCQs with detailed answers
• Updated with new information every day
• Covers MRCP, MRCGP and PLAB exams
Almost a Doctor
• Works like Wikipedia - put together by users but subject to quality control
• Contains notes, mindmaps, flashcards and an OSCE checklist
• Blogs from other Resident Doctors
• Lots of notes on different topics
Radiology Master-Class
• Courses accredited by the Royal College of Radiologists
• X-ray interpretation tutorials
• A gallery of sample X-ray cases
BMJ OnExamination
BMJ OnExamination helps to support trainees with their exam preparation. Provides revision resources, core questions, mock tests and question of the day.
Subscription required.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
With simple language and realistic 3D visuals, the Video Atlas may be used as an adjunct to dissection as well as for students who need to re-learn clinically relevant anatomy for their surgical rotations or who are taking anatomy modules.

Support using databases

Workshops

The library run workshops for beginners and sessions covering more advanced search techniques. We will introduce you to key databases for your subject and help you use them effectively.

In addition to search skills, we regularly run workshops to increase your confidence in applying critical appraisal skills to published research.

Check our Calendar for more information.

1-1 Appointments

Book a 45-minute 1-1 appointment with a senior library assistant for help with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, or building search strategies for literature reviews.

Please note: our 1-1 service is only for current students and staff at King's College London and/or our partnered NHS Trusts.

e-learning

KLaSS - Finding Academic Material for Health Topics
Learn to develop focused research questions, effective search strategies, navigate databases and some advanced search techniques.
KLaSS - Advanced searching for Systematic Reviewers
Develop your advanced searching skills required for a systematic, scoping, or similar review.

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2025 1:08 PM
URL: https://libguides.kcl.ac.uk/health-sciences
Print Page