Websites
- Henry Stewart Talks (Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection) This link opens in a new window A collection of lectures and presentations by leading experts in the fields of biomedicine and life sciences. Includes specific series on clinical methods, biochemistry, diseases, immunology, microbiology. The presentations consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronised for ease of listening. They are all approximately 40-50 minutes long and are organised into a comprehensive series of talks.Useful if you study: BiochemistryBiologyClinical MedicinePharmacyThe Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies. There are over 2,000 contributing editors and speakers. Subject categories include:BiochemistryCancerCell BiologyClinical PracticeGenetics & EpigeneticsImmunologyMetabolism & NutritionMethodsMicrobiologyNeurosciencePharmaceutical SciencesPhysiology & AnatomyPlant & Animal SciencesReproduction & DevelopmentTherapeutic areas included:Cardiovascular & MetabolicDermatologyGastroenterology & NephrologyGynaecology & ObstetricsHaematologyImmunology & InflammationInfectious DiseasesNeurologyOncologyOphthalmologyOral HealthRespiratory DiseasesVaccines
- British Medical Association (BMA)Professional body for doctors in the UK.
- JoVEPeer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.
Professional organisations & research institutes
- Anatomical SocietyA learned society for teachers and researchers (including students) of anatomical subjects, including morphological aspects of cell biology, neuroscience and embryology as well as traditional medical anatomy.
- Institute of Anatomical SciencesInternational group of anatomy and anatomically-related professionals dedicated to sharing knowledge, techniques and practices to ensure informed intellectual and technical expertise in the Anatomical Sciences
- FENSFederation of European Neuroscience Societies
- IBROInternational Brain Research Organisation
- British Psychological Society Website includes information about careers in Psychology, including information on specific psychology areas, vacancies (inc. for assistant psychologists), funding opportunities for courses, lists of course providers and more.
- Royal College of Nursing The Royal College of Nursing’s website hosts a useful careers section, with information on qualifications and case studies detailing what a typical day as a nurse consists of. There’s also information on working in the UK as a foreign student, and working abroad.
- Royal Pharmaceutical SocietyProfessional body for pharmacists in England, Scotland and Wales.
- The General Pharmaceutical CouncilThe GPhC is the regulator for pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and pharmacy premises in Great Britain.
- Forensic Science SocietyIncludes journal bibliography, tables of contents of 'Science and justice' and full text of the society’s newsletter 'Interfaces', and useful set of website links.
- Royal Society of ChemistryThe RSC is the largest organisation in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.
- The Physiological Society
Learned society promoting physiology as a field of work and study. The website includes links to journals and societies around the world, a careers section under the “education and outreach” tab, and jobs page.