This guide is brought to you by:
How to create a footnote in MS Word
To create a footnote citation in Word, click on References and Insert Footnote:
Citing and Referencing: A book
In-text Citation:
1. Zadie Smith, On Beauty (London: Hamish Hamilton, 2005), 124-126.
In the footnote include page numbers identifying the specific pages the ideas you are referencing come from.
Bibliography:
Citing and Referencing: A journal article
In-text Citation:
1. Gail Edwards and Gary Thomas, "Can Reflective Practice be Taught?" Educational Studies 36, no. 4 (2010): 403-414, doi.org/10.1080/03055690903424790
In the footnote include page numbers identifying the specific pages the ideas you are referencing come from.
Bibliography:
Citing and Referencing: A chapter in a book
In-text Citation:
1. Young Sook Lee, "Finding the Means to Improve Services," in Improving Library Services to People With Disabilities, ed. Courtney Deines-Jones (Oxford: Chandos, 2007), 105-108.
In the footnote include page numbers identifying the specific pages the ideas you are referencing come from.
Bibliography:
Lee, Young Sook. "Finding the Means to Improve Services." In Improving Library Services to People With Disabilities, edited by Courtney Deines-Jones, 105-108. Oxford: Chandos, 2007.
You can see the specific chapter is referenced first, and the book itself is referenced with 'In' and the book's title. This system is used when your chapter was not written by the book's author or editor.
Citing and Referencing: A web page
In-text citation
1. Lynn Nguyen, "Forever Changes: Climate Lessons from Ancient Egypt," Yale University, August 2, 2021, https://news.yale.edu/2021/08/02/forever-changes-climate-lessons-ancient-egypt.
2. Yale University, "About Yale: Yale Facts," last accessed May 1, 2017, https://yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Bibliography
Nguyen, Lynn. “Forever Changes: Climate Lessons from Ancient Egypt.” Yale University. August 2, 2021. https://news.yale.edu/2021/08/02/forever-changes-climate-lessons-ancient-egypt.
Yale University. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Last accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Citing and Referencing: Citing something more than once
In-text Citation:
If a second citation occurs within the same footnote, you can just use the author's surname and title of the piece again, or a shortened version of the title, along with a page number(s). Please note, Chicago 17th discourages the use of ibid. for repeated citations of the same source.
1. Zadie Smith, On Beauty (London: Hamish Hamilton, 2005), 225.
2. Smith, On Beauty, 240.
3. Giorgio Agamben, Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1998), 81.
4. Agamben, Homo Sacer, 123.
5. Smith, On Beauty, 242.
If your second citation occurs in another footnote i.e. on another page, it will need to be cited fully again.
Citing and Referencing: a film
In-text citation
1. North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD/VHS.
2. "Crop Duster Attack", North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD/VHS.
Bibliography
Hitchcock, Alfred, dir. North by Northwest. 1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000. DVD/VHS.
King's Footnotes Style Guide
King's Footnote style is in practice the Chicago Footnote style. This means citations are placed in numbered footnotes.You will still need to create a bibliography or reference list in alphabetical order at the end of your document when using this style.
- Chicago 17th ed. Reference Examples
Chicago 17th edition has been chosen as the King's Footnotes style. Find guidance on how to properly format citations and references here for a range of formats, courtesy of Mohawk Valley Community College.
Want to know more about the Author-Date, Footnotes, or Numbered style?
Need to know more about the Author-Date, Footnotes, or Numbered styles?
You can find videos to learn more about the styles in use and some quizzes you can take to make sure you know what you need to do, on KLaSS:
- KLaSS: Citing and Referencing Tools for your Studies
Learn how to properly cite and reference your academic work at King's.
Building your bibliography in the King's Footnotes style
You need to provide a list of the sources you have used. In the Chicago style this is called a Bibliography. It is arranged in alphabetical order of author's surname:
Bibliography:
Bowden, Hugh, and John Pearce. "Seeing the Gods in Roman London." In Visualising a Sacred City: London, Art and Religion, edited by Ben Quash, Aaron Rosen and Chloe Reddaway, 19-38. London and New York: I.B. Tauris, 2017.
Gollner, Adam. The Fruit Hunters: A Story of Nature, Adventure, Commerce and Obsession. London: Souvenir, 2010.
MacDonald, Susan Peck. "The Erasure of Language." College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 585-625.