Skip to Main Content
This guide is brought to you by:

Libraries & Collections Logo

Contact Us

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

We recently surveyed the King's community to find out which pieces of bibliographic software were in use, and the results are above. Your responses have really helped us decide how to design this guide, where you can find tuition and support for all the popular programs mentioned above.

Whichever software you decide to use, happy referencing!

EndNote desktop

How can I find and install EndNote desktop?

There are a few ways you can find and use EndNote while you study or work at King's:

  1. EndNote desktop can be accessed remotely through the Windows Virtual Desktop (WVD). Google Chrome is recommended when using the WVD.
  2. EndNote desktop can be found installed on any King's computer e.g. in Libraries or computer rooms throughout our campuses.
  3. You can 'borrow' a license from King's to install EndNote on your personal computer or device, see the link to the Software Distribution Centre below. You must uninstall this version of EndNote when you leave King's

 

Online training and guidance on EndNote

You can find an online course on EndNote desktop below, available via Clarivate's website. You might also like to check out UCL's guide to EndNote:

Online Webinars on using EndNote from Clarivate

The default time zone is Eastern U.S., so make sure to choose the correct zone to see the right courses. The webinars include EndNote for Windows and Mac OSX.

Technical Support for EndNote Desktop

Linking to Full Text

If you would like to link your Desktop Endnote Library to KCL databases so you can use the Find Full Text function, you need to select:

Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text

This is the OpenURL path you will be asked for::

https://librarysearch.kcl.ac.uk/discovery/openurl?institution=44KCL_INST&vid=44KCL_INST:44KCL_INST&

Authenticate with:

http://libproxy.kcl.ac.uk/login

EndNote Click

EndNote Click is a free browser extension that enables one-click access to full text PDFs of articles from subscribed and open access journals, searching for the best available PDF of an article while you browse. Click on the EndNote Click button in the bottom left-hand corner of your screen to access the PDF.

EndNote Click can be used in browsers such as Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.

To set up an Endnote Click account go to click.endnote.com

Mendeley

Installing Mendeley on your computer

Mendeley Reference Manager, which replaces the Mendeley Desktop that is no longer supported, can be used as an online reference manager or can be downloaded free of charge from Mendeley's website, compatible with windows, Mac OS and Linux:

Please Note - Mendeley recommend you use a personal email (e.g. gmail) address to create a Mendeley desktop account. Institutional email addresses (e.g. @kcl.ac.uk) will not work for Mendeley desktop.

If you have used your institutional email address to create a Mendeley online account, you can change this to a personal email through the 'Settings & Privacy' options. Re-logging into Mendeley desktop with your personal email should then synchronise your data.

Training on using Mendeley

Technical Support for Mendeley

Can't find APA 6th in Mendeley?

Some students have reported that Mendeley will only show the APA 7th referencing style, which is not currently in use at King's. Search Mendeley's Find a style tool for 'American Psychological' to locate APA 6th.

Find a style:

Zotero

Installing Zotero on your computer

Zotero can be downloaded to your computer free of charge. Click the link below to get started with Zotero and exploring the range of plugins and apps you can add to your internet browser.

Training on using Zotero

Technical Support for Zotero

Which version of RefWorks should I use?

New to using RefWorks? Sign up to the New RefWorks 2.0 with the links below.

Been using RefWorks for awhile? If you are still using Legacy RefWorks, you have the option of either staying with Legacy RefWorks or moving to New RefWorks 2.0. Legacy RefWorks will not be available after 30th June 2023.

Important - when you decide to move to the New RefWorks 2.0, please ensure you not are currently working on a document that you began using Legacy RefWorks.

New RefWorks 2.0

Click the link below to create your RefWorks account. When your account's ready to go, take a look at the RefWorks 2.0 YouTube playlist to get started:

You can migrate your legacy library to RefWorks 2.0!

Important - If you decide to move to the New RefWorks 2.0, please ensure you not are currently working on a document that you began using Legacy RefWorks.

Tutorials and webinars on using New RefWorks 2.0

Interactive, narrated tutorials are available on all aspects of getting started with using New RefWorks 2.0 to cite and reference your sources.

From importing references for journals and books to inserting citations and creating your bibliography, find ProQuest's tutorials on their new YouTube channel New RefWorks:

Technical Support for RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks logo in a banner

Legacy RefWorks will not be available after 30th June 2023. 

New to using RefWorks? Sign up to the New RefWorks 2.0 in the box above.

To transfer to the new version of RefWorks before 30th June 2023 please follow the steps above. It will not be possible to access Legacy RefWorks after 30th June 2023 so transfer your references now!

Technical Support for RefWorks