Click here for a transcript of the video

Welcome. In this video, I'm going to show you where to find resources to help you with citing and referencing at King's. This video is for everyone within the King's community, whether you're studying on an undergraduate or postgraduate programme, researching for your PhD, or a member of staff who is conducting their own research or supporting students in theirs.

We will consider five sources of guidance and support at King's that can help you cite and reference appropriately, correctly and confidently. How can my department support me with citing and referencing? As different reference styles are used across King's, you can only find out the referencing style you should be using from your department. You can find this information in your module handbook by asking your tutor, lecturer or supervisor.

Your department may also have further guidance on support for citing and referencing, which is specific to your subject. How can library guides help me with citing and referencing? The King's Guide to Referencing Library Guide provides examples of the correct format for the four main referencing styles at King's. This guide also provides an overview of reference management software which you can use to collect and organise your sources, to insert citations into your work and to build your bibliography.

Let's take a closer look. To go to the King's Library Guides homepage, type libguides.kcl.ac.uk and select King's Guide to Referencing. You will find this by scrolling down the page. The first section of this guide, Getting Started with Referencing, introduces you to the four main King's referencing styles and includes a link to King's guidance for students on generative AI.

The second section, Choosing the Right Software, explores how you can use reference management tools to collect and organize your sources in one place streamlining the process and reducing cognitive load. There is also an overview of four of the most commonly used software: Zotero, RefWorks, EndNote, and Mendeley. The remaining sections of the King's Guide to Referencing provide an illustrative guide to each of the four referencing styles: King's Author Date, APA 7th edition, King's Footnotes, Chicago 17th edition, King's Numbered, Vancouver, and Legal Footnotes, Oscola 4th edition.

How can KLaSS help me with citing and referencing? KLaSS, King's Learning and Skill Service, includes e-learning modules developed by Libraries and Collections. These are designed to help you develop knowledge, skills and understanding within a particular topic. The KLaSS module, Tools for Citing and Referencing, provides interactive tutorials to help you develop and apply your citing and referencing skills.

Let's have a closer look. Find KLaSS, King's Learning and Skills Service, on Keats by clicking on the Student Help button in the top menu. This will take you to the class homepage. Select Citing and Referencing Tools for your studies. You'll find seven sections with interactive learning activities and links to useful resources. The introduction sets the context and scope. The Principles of Academic Referencing section covers the fundamental knowledge, understanding and skills you need to cite and reference effectively.

Individual sections then focus on the four King's referencing styles. Choose the relevant style for your needs and take a deep dive into it. The final section provides an overview of acknowledging generative AI sources. There is also a glossary of terms as well as useful links to other resources.

How can Cite Them Right help me with citing and referencing? I'm now going to hand over to my colleague Angus, who will take you through this powerful resource. Library and Collections also provide access to a resource called Cite Them Right online. While our library guide and e-learning pathways provide illustrative examples of how to cite and reference different types of information, Cite Them Right provides guidance and examples of a more extensive range of information sources.

For example, let's imagine I'm writing an essay about mobile health interventions and I want to cite the NHS app. I go to sitethemrightonline.com and log in using my King's IT account. I click on Browse Categories, and I'm going to look under the Digital and Internet category to find guidance on citing an app. My lecturer has told me to use King's Author Date Style, APA 7th, so I select that from the Quick Links, and I find Mobile Apps under the Software category.

Cite Them Right provides guidance on the citation order, gives examples of how in-text citations and reference lists are laid out, and a handy text box to try it for myself. You can also navigate by selecting Citation Style first. You may notice that throughout Cite Them Right Online, guidance is offered on referencing generative AI. AI, you should disregard this as King's College London has its own policies and procedures for acknowledging the use of generative AI tools in your work, which we will link to at the end of this video.

So Cite Them Right is an online resource, free for King's IT account holders. It provides extensive guidance and examples on citing and referencing different information sources across eight different referencing styles. Just be careful to follow King's guidance on referencing generative AI, rather than that from Cite Them Right.

How can KASL, King's Academic Skills for Learning, support me with citing and referencing? The King's e-learning module, Understanding Academic Integrity on KEATS, provides you with context for citing and referencing within your responsibilities as a member of the academic community at King's. It addresses why you need to cite and reference correctly, how this helps you avoid plagiarism and other forms of academic misconduct, together with any possible consequences.

Find King's Academic Skills for Learning on KEATS by clicking on the Student Help button in the top menu. In this video, we have considered five sources of support at King's for citing and referencing. Your department, the Library Guide, King's Guide to Referencing, the Class eLearning Pathway on Keats, Tools for Citing and Referencing, the Cite Them Right online platform, the KASL eLearning module on KEATS, Understanding Academic Integrity. We now have a toolbox of King's resources to help you cite and reference with confidence.