Free hands-on sessions are available for staff at GSTT and KCH to help you improve your skills in finding and understanding evidence. Staff from SLAM should contact their Library and Knowledge Services for equivalent training. King's College Hospital Staff also have access to training sessions at the PRUH (search Information Skills on Kwiki for more details).
GSTT and KCH staff can:
Welcome to Libraries & Collections
A tailored session helping you understand what Libraries & Collections can offer your team or department (particularly if you have little familiarity). Can be delivered as part of your own scheduled meeting. Request a session via the Booking Form.
Libraries & Collections Update
A tailored session helping you understand the new and existing services that Libraries & Collections can offer your team of department. Can be delivered onsite as part of your own scheduled meeting. Request a session via the Booking Form.
Rapid access to evidence-based resources
This 45 minute session will explore some key resources for finding reviews, guidelines and summaries to support your work. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.
Introduction to healthcare databases
This session provides a hands-on introduction to searching MEDLINE, CINAHL and other databases to find journal articles, including planning your search. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.
Introduction to critical appraisal of quantitative/qualitative research
Increase your confidence in your critical appraisal skills in these introductory sessions. Learn about the main concepts of critical appraisal and practise appraising an article in a group. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.
Searching for Systematic Reviews
Good Clinical Practice
The GMC Good Clinical Practice course is available via the King's Health Partners Clinical Trial Office
Sign-up sessions running in the next few months are highlighted below. For venue details and to book a place, click on the session you are interested in and follow the onscreen prompts. You can limit by hospital site or course.
If you have problems with your booking please contact email@example.com
No workshops running at a time suitable for you? Fill in our short workshop preferences survey to let us know. We'll take into account your suggestions around timings and location when we schedule the next batch of workshops.
Publication dates for NHS workshops:
|Workshops running in:||Book a place from:|
|Oct, Nov, Dec||1st Sept|
|Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr||1st Dec|
|May, Jun||1st April|
|Jul, Aug, Sep||1st June|
You can schedule a 1-1 appointment with a librarian for help with literature searches and navigating online resources. 1-1s become available to book 2 weeks in advance, and up to 24 hours before. This is currently a trial service; more appointments will become available in the near future.
Finding Evidence (KHP Learning Hub)
Are you trying to develop a search strategy? Struggling to access the full text of a journal article? Looking for reviews, guidelines or summaries of evidence? Searching for information but getting lots of irrelevant results or nothing at all?
This course will help you find the evidence you need to inform patient care or service development, update guidelines or policies, support assignments or professional development and inform research.
To access the course:
1) Login to the Learning Hub with your Trust network login - click the relevant organisation logo
|2) Search for Finding Evidence (or browse the Professional Development Section)|
The course includes the modules below from the NHS e-LfH Literature Searching Programme.
The Learning Hub also hosts a growing collection of other resources including podcasts and guidance on How to read a paper.
Literature Searching Programme (e-LfH)
The modules are short (each taking no more than 20 minutes to complete) and may be ‘dipped into’ for reference, or completed to obtain a certificate.
e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH) hosts extensive elearning resources tailored for NHS staff - many require OpenAthens to login.