Skip to main content

NHS: Home

A general guide to Library Services for NHS staff via King's College London

Welcome

Welcome to the Libraries & Collections support pages for NHS staff.

Libraries & Collections can help you with:

  • finding materials (books, journals and more) relevant to your CPD, research and patient care
  • using our online resources
  • learning skills in handling evidence

If you need any help, feel free to contact us.

Key Library links

Search the Library Subject Guide

News

Changes to your library services

We are here to help you with online resources and support.

A specific Coronavirus page has been added to this guide detailing Covid-19 related evidence resources tailored for you.

You have extensive ejournal access via OpenAthens and can now request journal articles from the university online collections via an online form rather than needing to use a King's computer.

You can continue to register for http://libguides.kcl.ac.uk/nhs/openathens to access our resources.

Staff at King's College Hospital can register on KnowledgeShare (using OpenAthens) to request evidence updates or for us to carry out a search in support of patient care.

Please visit our Coronavirus update and FAQs page for the latest updates on library services.

Following Government advice all King's College London Library buildings closed on 27th March till further notice.

ebook options expand 

After our new collection of books on health and wellbeing topics we are happy to make available a much wider range of ebooks through the same platform.  The collection of over 150,000 titles ranges across a huge range of topics and offer something for all staff. An OpenAthens login is required for ebook access (the exception are titles from Oxford University Press - these are on OpenAthens or login free from GSTT PCs.

Finding Evidence elearning at your convenience

Are you trying to develop a search strategy? Struggling to access the full text of a journal article? Looking for reviews, guidelines or summaries of evidence? Searching for information but getting lots of irrelevant results or nothing at all?

This course will help you find the evidence you need to support your work, education and/or research. It will assist in carrying out a literature search to inform patient care or service development, update guidelines or policies, support assignments or professional development and inform research.

This course is available via the King's Health Partners Learning Hub (now freely accessible using your Trust or King's login). It includes the modules from the NHS e-LfH Literature Searching Programme.

The Learning Hub also hosts a growing collection of other resources from online modules to podcasts.

New resources

Free BNF and BNFC apps 

Both the BNF and BNF for Children apps are available to download for free by anyone working for the NHS.  Students on an NHS funded course or on placement in the NHS are also eligible.  The apps are available for Android and iPhone devices.  NHS OpenAthens is no longer required. 

The BNF and BNFc can also be accessed online from NHS Evidence Search without login.

The NICE Guidance app remains available.

Access to e-Learning for Healthcare

All OpenAthens account holders now have access to a large set of elearning resources from Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH).

HEE e-LfH’s programmes cover subjects from audiology to anaesthesia, dentistry to dermatology, electronic fetal monitoring to end of life care, primary care to prescribing, safeguarding children to statutory and mandatory training. All content is nationally quality-assured and available 24/7. 

For more information about accessing e-LfH resources via OpenAthens visit: http://support.e-lfh.org.uk/get-started/openathens/.

Ebooks from Oxford

You can access the full collection of Oxford University Press ebooks in health via Oxford Medicine Online.  So every Oxford HandbookOxford TextbookEmergencies inOxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides.  Login free access is available via IP on GSTT and King's College London Library PCs, via the Kwiki ebooks page at KCH or via OpenAthens from anywhere.

To login via OpenAthens - go to OxfordMedicine.com select "Sign in" and then "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation".  At this point you need to identify yourself as being part of "NHS England" by either typing into the list or selecting the option when offered if you have accessed the site before.  You will then be prompted for your OpenAthens login.

Contact Us

Feel free to chat to us by using our 24/7 live online chat:

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

King's Libraries Twitter