Skip to main content

Library Guides

NHS: Home

A general guide to Library Services for NHS staff via King's College London

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Services support pages for NHS staff.

Library Services can help you with:

  • finding materials (books, journals and more) relevant to your CPD, research and patient care
  • using our online resources
  • learning skills in handling evidence
  • providing a place to work

If you need any help, feel free to contact us.

Key Library links

Search the Library Subject Guide

News

Your views sought

We would be most appreciative if you could spare 10 - 15 minutes to complete the Library Services survey online using the appropriate link for your Trust 

King's College Hospital Staff

Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital Staff

This biennial survey is conducted collaboratively with NHS libraries in South London and gives you an opportunity to feedback on various aspects Library Services. The results are used to inform the development of services and to help us understand how we are doing.

Prizes are available from our suppliers the BMJ, Blackwell's, Wiley, HSJ and Elsevier. These include:

  • £50 Amazon Voucher (from the BMJ)
  • £30 voucher (from Blackwells)
  • £50 love2shop voucher (from the HSJ)
  • £50 Amazon Voucher (from Elsevier)
  • 2 print copies of Wiley’s Marsden Manual 9th Edition

Old Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) to be turned off Friday 3rd March

The new version of the HDAS interface for searching Medline, CINAHL and other healthcare literature databases has been running in parallel for some time. The old version was switched off on Friday 3rd March.

There have been a number of improvements since the new version was initially launched.  Much should be familiar with the basics mechanics of searching unchanged but there are some new features and changes to the way some processes (like saved searches) are handled.  Training materials have been updated on the databases page. Our training sessions can take you through literature searching using the new HDAS.

24/7 at St Thomas' Hospital now open

A permanent 24/7 room is now available as part of the St Thomas' House Library.  Access is via the door at the west end of the building using your King's ID badge. There are new computers and space to work.  Staffed opening hours are Monday to Friday (9.30am to 5.30pm) and access is via the main entrance only during that time.

Access to e-Learning for Healthcare

All OpenAthens account holders now have access to a large set of elearning resources from Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH).

HEE e-LfH’s programmes cover subjects from audiology to anaesthesia, dentistry to dermatology, electronic fetal monitoring to end of life care, primary care to prescribing, safeguarding children to statutory and mandatory training. All content is nationally quality-assured and available 24/7. 

For more information about accessing e-LfH resources via OpenAthens visit: http://support.e-lfh.org.uk/get-started/openathens/.

Dynamed Plus

Access to this point of care resource is now available at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital (and continuing at King's College Hospital). DynaMed Plus is the evidence-based reference tool for use at the point-of-care to get answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed Plus covers a wide range of specialties.  Each topic includes concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence. An app is available – login and follow the link to "get the Dynamed Plus Mobile App". Login free access is available from GSTT PCs via dynamed.com or direct from the tool menu on the EPR.

Ebooks from Oxford

You can now access the full collection of Oxford University Press ebooks in health via Oxford Medicine Online.  So every Oxford HandbookOxford TextbookEmergencies inOxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides.  Access is via IP on GSTT and King's College London Library PCs or via OpenAthens from anywhere. To login via OpenAthens - go to OxfordMedicine.com select "Sign in" and then "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation".  At this point you need to identify yourself as being part of "NHS England" by either typing into the list or selecting the option when offered if you have accessed the site before.  You will then be prompted for your OpenAthens login.

Wifi from The Cloud

King's College London has introduced a free guest wifi service provided by The Cloud.  You will be prompted to register when you try and connect. More details on the IT wifi page. The AccessKings wifi service has been withdrawn. Affiliates are able to log on to http://www.kcl.ac.uk/it/support/wireless/index.aspx Eduroam

 

New resources

Access to e-Learning for Healthcare

All OpenAthens account holders now have access to a large set of elearning resources from Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH).

HEE e-LfH’s programmes cover subjects from audiology to anaesthesia, dentistry to dermatology, electronic fetal monitoring to end of life care, primary care to prescribing, safeguarding children to statutory and mandatory training. All content is nationally quality-assured and available 24/7. 

For more information about accessing e-LfH resources via OpenAthens visit: http://support.e-lfh.org.uk/get-started/openathens/.

Dynamed Plus

Access to this point of care resource is now available at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital (and continuing at King's College Hospital). DynaMed Plus is the evidence-based reference tool for use at the point-of-care to get answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed Plus covers a wide range of specialties.  Each topic includes concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence. An app is available – login and follow the link to "get the Dynamed Plus Mobile App". Login free access is available from GSTT PCs via dynamed.com.

Ebooks from Oxford

You can now access the full collection of Oxford University Press ebooks in health via Oxford Medicine Online.  So every Oxford Handbook, Oxford Textbook, Emergencies in, Oxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides.  Access is via IP on GSTT and King's College London Library PCs or via OpenAthens from anywhere

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

 

King's Libraries Twitter

Books, articles and more

Library Search